Training Setup Project – July 14, 2017

July 14, 2017

It never ceases to amaze me how people that are not L&D professionals cannot understand what it takes to do what we do. I was handed a 28-page course already created in Captivate that needed a few changes. One audio fix and “some” screen shots needed to be update with new visuals. A field on a page was removed in a recent update and it required 12 pages to be updated with new screen shots or repaired with overlays. That meant I had to take new screen shots while in the software, doctor them up with the old information, and reapply them to the course. To the layman, this may take a few minutes, but it took me most of the day. The only response I got from the subject matter expert was, “I told you only that one spot had to be changed, it should have been easy.” Well, I guess education of subject matter experts will be a priority on my list of things to do at the new position.

I am still constantly thinking of where to start with the new company. I had a brilliant idea to send out a quick three question survey to every person in the company.

  1. What is your definition of training?
  2. What is your definition of learning?
  3. Are these two things exclusive? Why?

The more I review this idea in my head, the more I may be opening a can of worms that I may not be prepared for. I do know that once I get the entire hierarchy of the company, I am going to focus on the money first. What makes the company money, where are the problems they are currently having, and how do they get people trained on their job. From there, I can work my way up to through the ranks, assessing those levels one at a time. Once I know what the meat of the company needs, I should be able to adjust the budget to what is needed to train that part of the company first. With those resources, I should be able to create training for the other areas without issue.

Picture: Nik MacMillan

Leave a Reply

