Training Project Setup – August 8, 2017 – Laying Tracks

“Said he’s going back to find, A simpler place and time.”

August 8, 2017

It is amazing how much can change in the matter of two days. I spent the entire weekend worrying that my timeline proposal was not going to be accepted on Monday afternoon. I put a lot of time in laying out the training timeline for the next five months and in the new year. It went through rewrites and time shifts, but in the end, I had firm dates with information to back up my reasons. Come to find out, I misunderstood a small portion of my first day “goals meeting” that turned out to be the crux of my issues. Needless to say, I was extremely relieved that the timeline I suggested was not only accepted, it was more ambitious than they had expected. I feel now that I have a mission. I am assembling the train to get it running and on the tracks.

The Facts

Navy Mutual committed to having all three portions of the LMS up and running by the end of the year. This commitment to their board of trustees is a hard stop. My misunderstanding was that they wanted to release the Training portion immediately and let the Performance and Succession pieces take place over the next 16 weeks. Through a discussion with my manager, we decided that we could release the Learning portion to a pilot group by the end of the month, maybe the first week of September. The immediate goal is now to meet with the Sales department and learn what I can do for them. I will also be speaking with the Cornerstone representatives, including the sales person, our overall liaison, and our contact for the Performance piece. I will need to push back the Performance piece for at least two weeks, but it still should leave time to get it, and the Succession piece in before the end of the year. They are calling for eight weeks for the Performance piece implementation. I was candid with my manager that Cornerstone may have not been the right solution for our company and she was completely understanding and appreciative of my insight.

As I mentioned before, please feel free to ask me questions if you want deeper insight to anything in particular. I am purposely abbreviating some of the details for space and readability, but I know that there are some people out there that want to know the deep details.

Picture:Ankush Minda

Leave a Reply

